Praised as a “first rate” soloist with a “crystal-clear sound,” John Marchiando serves as Principal Trumpet of the New Mexico Philharmonic

Marchiando has held positions with the Phoenix Symphony and Arizona Opera and has also performed as Guest Principal Trumpet with the Tucson Symphony Orchestra and Santa Fe Symphony. He has appeared with many other notable ensembles such as the Summit Brass, Santa Fe Opera, Tromba Mundi, Chatter: A Chamber Ensemble, Santa Fe New Music, and the Toledo Symphony .
A committed music educator, Marchiando has given masterclasses and clinics worldwide and currently serves on the brass faculties of the University of New Mexico and the Rafael Méndez Brass Institute, where he performs with the world-renown Summit Brass. John has also held positions on the faculties of the University of Toledo and Arizona State University.
Active also as a soloist, John has performed with ensembles across the globe, including appearances with the Summit Brass, Denver Municipal Band, the New Mexico Symphony Orchestra, the La Crosse Symphony Orchestra, Chatter: A Chamber Ensemble, and the Church of Beethoven. He has performed recitals and solos at the International Trumpet Guild Conference, the International Trumpet Festival at Westchester University, the CBDNA National Conference, the University of New Mexico, the University of Illinois, Colorado College and both the Conservatório de Musica in Tatuí and Universidade Estadual de Campinas (Unicamp) in Brazil.
Marchiando can be heard on recordings on the Accord, Centaur, Summit and Stemming record labels and has also done projects for National Public Radio and the Public Broadcasting System. As a music producer, John has completed several projects for Summit Records, including the two live performance recordings by the Summit Brass and the University of New Mexico Wind Symphony release “Fascinating Ribbons”, featuring tubist, Sam Pilafian.
“Dr. Marchiando is one of the finest trumpeters of his generation. He is an experienced soloist, chamber, and orchestral performer who brings a great deal of experience and enthusiasm to his teaching. He is also one of finest personalities I have ever worked with.”
–David Hickman, Regents Professor, Arizona State University
John received degrees from the University of Michigan (B.M. ’92, M.M. ’95) and most recently completed his Doctor of Musical Arts degree at Arizona
State University (2004). His dissertation, The Rafael Méndez Online Library (, is the official website of the Rafael Méndez Library housed at Arizona State.
Dr. Marchiando has been extremely fortunate to study with some of the greatest trumpet virtuosi in the world, including David Hickman, Armando Ghitalla, Charles Daval, Raymond Mase, Chris Gekker and Ramon Parcells.
In his free time, John enjoys playing golf, reading Sci-Fi novels, listening to his Rush records and watching baseball games. A baseball fanatic, John hopes each new season is the one where his beloved Milwaukee Brewers return to the playoffs.
John Marchiando is a S.E. Shires performing artist.

Our Musicians

Krzysztof Zimowski


David Felberg, violin

David Felberg

Associate Concertmaster

Phillip Coonce


Jonathan Amerding


Kerri Lay


Linda Boivin


Barbara Rivers


Nicolle Maniaci


Barbara Scalf Morris

Barbara Scalf Morris


Carol Swift-Matton, violin

Carol Swift-Matton

Assistant Principal 2nd Violin

Ikuko Kanda, violin

Ikuko Kanda


Justin Pollak


Julanie Lee


Iris McDowell


Roberta Branagan


Sheila McLay


Daniel Brandt, Violin

Daniel Brandt (on leave)


Susan French


Gary Logsdon

Principal Viola

Kimberly Fredenburgh

Assistant Principal Viola

Nicholas Hill


Christine Rancier, Viola

Christine Rancier


Virginia Lawrence


Willy Sucre


Lisa DiCarlo


Joan Zucker

Principal Cello

Carla Lehmeier Tatum, cello

Carla Lehmeier Tatum


Joel Becktell


David Schepps, Cello

David Schepps


publicity photo Dana small

Dana Winograd


Lisa Collins


Peggy Wells


Jean-Luc Matton

Principal Bass

Mark Tatum

Assistant Principal Bass

Katherine Olszowka


Terry Pruitt


Derek DeVelder


Ryan Walter

Bassoon 2

Valerie Potter

Principal Flute

Sara Tutland

Flute 2/ Piccolo

Kevin Vigneau

Principal Oboe

Melissa Peña

Associate Principal/English Horn

James Shields

Principal Clarinet

Lori Lovato

Assistant Principal Clarinet/E-flat Clarinet

Sunshine Simmons

Clarinet 3/Bass Clarinet

Stefanie Przybylska

Principal Bassoon

Denise Turner

Bassoon 2

Peter Ulffers

Principal Horn

Kurt Civilette

Assistant Principal Horn

Nathan Ukens

Horn 4

Niels Galloway

Assistant Horn

John Marchiando

Principal Trumpet

Mark Hyams

Trumpet 2

Jennifer Brynn Rector

Associate Principal Trumpet, Trumpet 3

Debra Taylor, trombone

Debra Taylor (Principal Trombone)

Principal Trombone

Byron Herrington

Trombone 2

David Tall

Bass Trombone

Richard White

Principal Tuba

Douglas Cardwell, Principal Timpani

Douglas Cardwell

Principal Timpani

Jeff Cornelius

Principal Percussion

Kenneth Dean

Percussion 2

Emily Cornelius, Percussion

Anne Eisfeller, harp small

Anne Eisfeller (Principal Harp)

Principal Harp