Kurt Civilette, third horn/associate principal with the New Mexico Philharmonic, had been with the New Mexico Symphony for 15 years. He held temporary positions as principal horn with the New Mexico Symphony, the Charleston Symphony, and the Savannah Symphony, and as assistant principal with the Honolulu Symphony. He is on sub lists for major orchestras and has played extra with the Detroit Symphony, the St. Louis Symphony, and the Utah Symphony during recent seasons. Kurt Civilette has been an instructor of horn and brass pedagogy at MSU since the fall of 2010.

Civilette trained at Northwestern University, studying with Chicago Symphony members Dale Clevenger and Richard Oldberg. After graduation, he was a successful freelance musician, appearing with the Chicago Lyric Opera, the Chicago Symphony, the Grant Park Symphony, the Jacksonville Symphony, and the North Carolina Symphony.

As a soloist, he has appeared with the New Mexico Symphony Orchestra on several occasions, most recently as a featured soloist during the 2005-06 season on tours and in community concerts, playing the seldom-performed virtuoso work Concertino for horn and orchestra by Carl Maria von Weber.

Civilette is an active chamber musician. As a member of the New Mexico Symphony woodwind quintet, he played children’s concerts and musicales for the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival. In the fall of 2010, he appeared with the CUBE contemporary music ensemble in Chicago in a special program dedicated to Gunther Schuller’s music, playing Schuller’s woodwind quintet with coaching and direction by the composer. He is currently a member of the Ann Arbor Symphony brass quintet.

During the summers, Kurt plays principal horn with the Southern Illinois Music festival in Carbondale. He has appeared in various U.S. and international summer festivals including the Spoleto Festival in the U.S. and Italy, the Assisi festival, the Kumamoto festival in Japan, and Music from Angel Fire.

Kurt also holds a third horn/associate principal position with the Ann Arbor, MI Symphony and has played guest principal with the Flint, Saginaw Bay, Midland, and Windsor symphonies, and with the Michigan Opera Theater.

Our Musicians

Krzysztof Zimowski


David Felberg, violin

David Felberg

Associate Concertmaster

Phillip Coonce


Jonathan Amerding


Kerri Lay


Linda Boivin


Barbara Rivers


Nicolle Maniaci


Barbara Scalf Morris

Barbara Scalf Morris


Carol Swift-Matton, violin

Carol Swift-Matton

Assistant Principal 2nd Violin

Ikuko Kanda, violin

Ikuko Kanda


Justin Pollak


Julanie Lee


Iris McDowell


Roberta Branagan


Sheila McLay


Daniel Brandt, Violin

Daniel Brandt (on leave)


Susan French


Gary Logsdon

Principal Viola

Kimberly Fredenburgh

Assistant Principal Viola

Nicholas Hill


Christine Rancier, Viola

Christine Rancier


Virginia Lawrence


Willy Sucre


Lisa DiCarlo


Joan Zucker

Principal Cello

Carla Lehmeier Tatum, cello

Carla Lehmeier Tatum


Joel Becktell


David Schepps, Cello

David Schepps


publicity photo Dana small

Dana Winograd


Lisa Collins


Peggy Wells


Jean-Luc Matton

Principal Bass

Mark Tatum

Assistant Principal Bass

Katherine Olszowka


Terry Pruitt


Derek DeVelder


Ryan Walter

Bassoon 2

Valerie Potter

Principal Flute

Sara Tutland

Flute 2/ Piccolo

Kevin Vigneau

Principal Oboe

Melissa Peña

Associate Principal/English Horn

James Shields

Principal Clarinet

Lori Lovato

Assistant Principal Clarinet/E-flat Clarinet

Sunshine Simmons

Clarinet 3/Bass Clarinet

Stefanie Przybylska

Principal Bassoon

Denise Turner

Bassoon 2

Peter Ulffers

Principal Horn

Kurt Civilette

Assistant Principal Horn

Nathan Ukens

Horn 4

Niels Galloway

Assistant Horn

John Marchiando

Principal Trumpet

Mark Hyams

Trumpet 2

Jennifer Brynn Rector

Associate Principal Trumpet, Trumpet 3

Debra Taylor, trombone

Debra Taylor (Principal Trombone)

Principal Trombone

Byron Herrington

Trombone 2

David Tall

Bass Trombone

Richard White

Principal Tuba

Douglas Cardwell, Principal Timpani

Douglas Cardwell

Principal Timpani

Jeff Cornelius

Principal Percussion

Kenneth Dean

Percussion 2

Emily Cornelius, Percussion

Anne Eisfeller, harp small

Anne Eisfeller (Principal Harp)

Principal Harp