rio rancho choirRio Rancho High School Concert Choir

When the Rio Rancho High School Concert Choir takes the stage, it is much more than a concert, it is an event. Presenting music from different time periods and genres, while maintaining appropriate performance practices and enthusiasm for the repertoire is their specialty. Since the inception of Rio Rancho High School in 1997, the choir has grown and developed under the baton of several fine directors into a program that is recognized for its quality and dynamic performances. Members of the Concert Choir regularly receive Superior with Honors ratings at Solo and Ensemble Festival and are consistently well represented in the New Mexico All State Choirs. The choir has received Superior ratings at the annual NMMEA Central District VI Music Performance Assessments, including three perfect scores in March of 2014. The choir is currently under the direction of Mrs. Becky Talbott.

Becky-001withoutlogoBecky Talbott director

Becky began her music studies with piano at an early age. She studied choral conducting with John Clark and piano with Rita Angel at the University of New Mexico, receiving a Bachelor’s Degree in Music Education with Distinction in December 1984. She then received her Master’s Degree in Music Education in May 2002. She has taught all levels and grades and had an extensive private studio for many years as well. Becky is currently in her sixth year as Director of Choral Activities at Rio Rancho High School in Rio Rancho, New Mexico, which currently boasts over one hundred thirty students participating in five choirs (Mixed Choir, Women’s Choir, Advanced Women’s Ensemble, Concert Choir, and the Ramifications). Becky is also the Vocal Director for the school’s musicals and adjudicates festivals throughout New Mexico. The Rio Rancho Concert Choir is the NMMEA All State Honor Choir for 2015.

Meet the Musicians

Amy Huzjak
Jonathan Flaksman •••

Carla Lehmeier-Tatum
Ian Mayne-Brody
Dana Winograd
David Schepps
Lisa Collins
Elizabeth Purvis

Jean-Luc Matton •+
Zachary Bush
Mark Tatum ••
Katherine Olszowka
Terry Pruitt
Sam Brown

Frank Murry

Valerie Potter
Jiyoun Hur ••

Kevin Vigneau
Amanda Talley

Melissa Peña ••+
Lauren Keating ••++

Marianne Shifrin •+
Ivan Valbuena ++

Lori Lovato •••
Timothy Skinner

Lori Lovato

Timothy Skinner +
Cory Tamez ++

Stefanie Przybylska •
Denise Turner

Peter Erb
Allison Tutton
Katelyn Lewis •••
Maria Long ••••

John Marchiando
Brynn Marchiando
Sam Oatts •••

Aaron Zalkind
Byron Herrington

David Tall

Richard White

Micah Harrow

Jeff Cornelius
Kenneth Dean
Emily Cornelius

Matthew Tutsky

Principal •
Assistant Principal ••
Associate Principal •••
Assistant ••••
Leave +
One year position ++