Rune Bergmann

Norwegian conductor Rune Bergmann is quickly gaining a reputation as an inspiring and profound musician and is considered “one of the most talented Scandinavian conductors.” He is praised as a dynamic and versatile conductor with an extensive classical, romantic, operatic, and contemporary repertoire. To date, he has conducted many European orchestras, such as the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra, Norwegian National Opera, Augsburger Philharmoniker, Mainfranken Theater Würzburg, Kuopio Symphony, Malmö Symphony Orchestra, Helsingborg Symphony Orchestra, as well as the symphony orchestras of Bergen, Kristiansand, Stavanger, Trondheim, Karlskrona, and Odense.

In addition to symphonic masterworks, he masters a large choral repertoire including requiems by Mozart, Brahms, and Verdi. Performances of works by Sibelius, Svendsen, Nielsen, Halvorsen, and Grieg have also earned him acclaim.

Rune Bergmann studied conducting at the Sibelius Academy in Helsinki with Leif Segerstam, where he graduated with the highest honors. Prior to the Sibelius Academy, he studied choir and orchestral conducting at the Royal College of Music in Stockholm with professors Anders Eby, Jin Wang, and Jorma Panula.

He is a proud recipient of the Kjell Holm Foundation Culture Prize 2010, and the SMP Press 2009 culture award. He was awarded the second prize of the Nordic Conducting Competition in Helsingborg in 2002.

As a guest professor in conducting, Rune Bergmann has been engaged at several Universities, and has until recently had the position as First Kapellmeister with the Augsburger Philharmoniker and Theater Augsburg in Germany. Currently, Rune Bergmann holds the position as principal guest conductor of the Kaunas City Symphony Orchestra and music director of the Fjord Cadenza Festival.

Meet the Musicians

Krzysztof Zimowski Karen McKinnon Concertmaster Chair
David Felberg Associate Concertmaster
Ana María Quintero Muñoz ++ Associate Concertmaster
Sarah Tasker Assistant Concertmaster
Laura Steiner
Joan Wang
Juliana Huestis
Steve Ognacevic
Kerri Lay +
Bradford Richards
Barbara Barber ++
Barbara Rivers
Nicolle Maniaci
Barbara Scalf Morris

Gabriela Fogo •+
Rafael Marzagão •++

Carol Swift ••
Julanie Lee
Anthony Templeton
Liana Austin
Eric Sewell
Lidija Peno-Kelly
Sheila McLay
Heather MacArthur

Laura Chang
Kimberly Fredenburgh ••
Allegra Askew
Christine Rancier
Virginia Lawrence
Willy Sucre +
Joan Hinterbichler
Lisa DiCarlo

Stefanie Przybylska •
Denise Turner

Peter Erb
Allison Tutton
Katelyn Lewis •••

John Marchiando
Brynn Marchiando •••
Tristan Frank

Aaron Zalkind
Byron Herrington

David Tall

Richard White •+
Justin Gruber •++

Micah Harrow

Jeff Cornelius
Kenneth Dean
Emily Cornelius

Matthew Tutsky

Principal •
Assistant Principal ••
Associate Principal •••
Assistant ••••
Leave +
One year position ++