Valerie Potter flute

Valerie Potter is currently the principal flutist with the New Mexico Philharmonic.  She previously performed as principal flutist of the New Mexico Symphony and has held the piccolo position with the Santa Fe Opera Orchestra since 1994. A student of James Pellerite, she received her Bachelor of Music from Indiana University with a performerís certificate. Ms. Potter also received a Master’s of Music from Yale University where she studied with Tom Nyfenger. She has performed with many orchestras across the country including the Cincinnati Symphony, the Detroit Symphony, the San Antonio Symphony, the San Francisco Symphony and the Houston Symphony.

She has been featured as a soloist with the New Mexico Symphony, performing the CPE Bach Concerto in d minor and the Concerto for Flute and Harp by Mozart and was a soloist in the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival’s performance of Bach’s Brandenburg Concerto Number Four. She has been a member of the faculty of the Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music and is currently serving as Associate Professor of Flute at the University of New Mexico.

Ms. Potter has been featured as a performer at several National Flute Association conventions. She has also been an invited artist and clinician at several flute fairs and is in demand as a chamber musician. In 2007, she serves as the local coordinator for the NFA Convention. Ms. Potter’s discography includes a recording of twentieth century wind quintet repertoire with the New Mexico Winds.

Meet the Musicians

Krzysztof Zimowski Karen McKinnon Concertmaster Chair
David Felberg Associate Concertmaster
Ana María Quintero Muñoz ++ Associate Concertmaster
Sarah Tasker Assistant Concertmaster
Laura Steiner
Joan Wang
Juliana Huestis
Steve Ognacevic
Kerri Lay +
Bradford Richards
Barbara Barber ++
Barbara Rivers
Nicolle Maniaci
Barbara Scalf Morris

Gabriela Fogo •+
Rafael Marzagão •++

Carol Swift ••
Julanie Lee
Anthony Templeton
Liana Austin
Eric Sewell
Lidija Peno-Kelly
Sheila McLay
Heather MacArthur

Laura Chang
Kimberly Fredenburgh ••
Allegra Askew
Christine Rancier
Virginia Lawrence
Willy Sucre +
Joan Hinterbichler
Lisa DiCarlo

Stefanie Przybylska •
Denise Turner

Peter Erb
Allison Tutton
Katelyn Lewis •••

John Marchiando
Brynn Marchiando •••
Tristan Frank

Aaron Zalkind
Byron Herrington

David Tall

Richard White •+
Justin Gruber •++

Micah Harrow

Jeff Cornelius
Kenneth Dean
Emily Cornelius

Matthew Tutsky

Principal •
Assistant Principal ••
Associate Principal •••
Assistant ••••
Leave +
One year position ++