Kevin Vigneau

Principal Oboe

Principal Oboe of the New Mexico Philharmonic, Dr. Kevin Vigneau is also Professor of Oboe at UNM and has enjoyed an international career as an orchestral player, soloist, teacher, and chamber musician.

Principal Oboe of the Cape Town Symphony Orchestra (South Africa) from 1986–1990 and Principal Oboe of the Orquestra Metropolitana de Lisboa (Lisbon, Portugal) from 1993–1996, he has been a member of the Santa Fe Opera Orchestra, the Opera Company of Boston Orchestra, the New Haven Symphony, and a fellow at the Berkshire Music Festival.

Mr. Vigneau has performed as a chamber musician with Music from Angel Fire, the Banff Festival, the South African Broadcasting Society, the Mistral Wind Quintet, the Cassat Quartet, the Kandinsky Trio, and the Maia String Quartet. As a recitalist and soloist, he has performed in Rio de Janeiro, Lisbon, at Octoboefest in Iowa, at International Double Reed Society Conferences in Chicago and Phoenix, in Amsterdam, Johannesburg, Cape Town, the Azores, Taiwan, Canada, and at many colleges and universities throughout the United States.

His solo CD, Oboe on the Edge: Modern Masterworks for Oboe, was released in 2008 on Centaur Records. He has also recorded the Richard Strauss Oboe Concerto with the Orquestra Metropolitana de Lisboa for EMI Classics, the Hidas Oboe Concerto with the UNM Wind Symphony on the Summit label, and 20th-century wind quintets with the New Mexico Winds for Centaur.

Dr. Vigneau holds a Doctor of Musical Arts from Yale University (1998), where he studied with Ronald Roseman and was awarded the Dean’s Prize for outstanding member of the graduating class. He also studied with Ralph Gomberg and Laurence Thorstenberg at Boston University, where he earned his BM.

The Cape Times has referred to Dr. Vigneau as “a consummate instrumentalist, who brings to the task technical facility, abundant musicality, and a keen intellect.”

kevin vigneau photo (640x633)

Meet the Musicians

Amy Huzjak
Jonathan Flaksman •••

Carla Lehmeier-Tatum
Ian Mayne-Brody
Dana Winograd
David Schepps
Lisa Collins
Elizabeth Purvis

Jean-Luc Matton •+
Zachary Bush
Mark Tatum ••
Katherine Olszowka
Terry Pruitt
Sam Brown

Frank Murry

Valerie Potter
Jiyoun Hur ••

Kevin Vigneau
Amanda Talley

Melissa Peña ••+
Lauren Keating ••++

Marianne Shifrin •+
Ivan Valbuena ++

Lori Lovato •••
Timothy Skinner

Lori Lovato

Timothy Skinner +
Cory Tamez ++

Stefanie Przybylska •
Denise Turner

Peter Erb
Allison Tutton
Katelyn Lewis •••
Maria Long ••••

John Marchiando
Brynn Marchiando
Sam Oatts •••

Aaron Zalkind
Byron Herrington

David Tall

Richard White

Micah Harrow

Jeff Cornelius
Kenneth Dean
Emily Cornelius

Matthew Tutsky

Principal •
Assistant Principal ••
Associate Principal •••
Assistant ••••
Leave +
One year position ++