Sam Shepperson


Sam Shepperson is a graduate of the University of New Mexico and is currently the director of the Opera Theatre at UNM.  Active in opera, oratorio, and art song, he has been a soloist with such groups as the New Mexico Symphony Orchestra, the Santa Fe Symphony, Music in the Mountains, the Orchestra of Santa Fe, the Colorado Opera Festival, Opera Southwest, Emerald City Opera, and the Santa Fe Desert Chorale, and he has performed numerous roles with the UNM Opera Theater as well as the role of Ben Budge in the Santa Fe Opera’s production of The Beggar’s Opera.

For several years, Sam toured a production for the Santa Fe Opera outreach program. His opera résumé includes such roles as Ferrando in Così fan tutte, Pedrillo in The Abduction from the Seraglio, Fenton in The Merry Wives of Windsor, Leo in Regina, Lindoro in L’italiana in Algeri, Camille in The Merry Widow, Almaviva in The Barber of Seville, Ernesto in Don Pasquale, Eisenstein in Die Fledermaus, Dr. Caius in Falstaff, and Little Bat in Susannah. His oratorio résumé includes Judas in Judas Maccabeus, Samson in Samson, tenor soloist in Carmina Burana, Florentino in Cantata Criolla, and standard repertoire such as MessiahElijahThe Seasons, Mozart’s Requiem, and Beethoven’s Ninth Symphony 

He has appeared under the baton of Margaret Hillis, Neal Stulberg, William Kirschke, John Crosby, Donald Neuen, Stewart Robertson, Michael Butterman, Guillermo Figueroa, Anthony Barrese, and Jorge Pérez-Gómez. In summer 1995, he made his international debut as tenor soloist in Haydn’s “Lord Nelson” Mass with the Symphony of the Americas. In 2012, he made his Lincoln Center debut in New York as tenor soloist in René Clausen’s Requiem. 

Sam Shepperson

Meet the Musicians

Krzysztof Zimowski Karen McKinnon Concertmaster Chair
David Felberg Associate Concertmaster
Ana María Quintero Muñoz ++ Associate Concertmaster
Sarah Tasker Assistant Concertmaster
Laura Steiner
Joan Wang
Juliana Huestis
Steve Ognacevic
Kerri Lay +
Bradford Richards
Barbara Barber ++
Barbara Rivers
Nicolle Maniaci
Barbara Scalf Morris

Gabriela Fogo •+
Rafael Marzagão •++

Carol Swift ••
Julanie Lee
Anthony Templeton
Liana Austin
Eric Sewell
Lidija Peno-Kelly
Sheila McLay
Heather MacArthur

Laura Chang
Kimberly Fredenburgh ••
Allegra Askew
Christine Rancier
Virginia Lawrence
Willy Sucre +
Joan Hinterbichler
Lisa DiCarlo

Stefanie Przybylska •
Denise Turner

Peter Erb
Allison Tutton
Katelyn Lewis •••

John Marchiando
Brynn Marchiando •••
Tristan Frank

Aaron Zalkind
Byron Herrington

David Tall

Richard White •+
Justin Gruber •++

Micah Harrow

Jeff Cornelius
Kenneth Dean
Emily Cornelius

Matthew Tutsky

Principal •
Assistant Principal ••
Associate Principal •••
Assistant ••••
Leave +
One year position ++